The Top 5 Books I Look Forward to Re-Reading This Year

the list - rereads

In the past, I was never about rereading books. But as I grow older (and more forgetful), I feel like I can finally handle reading certain books over again.

There are some books that I’ve read the first time that give me that amazing feeling by the final pages — books that I just could never believe would uphold that same feeling with a reread.

But with age comes forgetfulness, which means I have no idea sometimes what happened in a book, but I know I loved it.

Of course, this can backfire and those once amazing feelings I’ve had towards a book turn into hostility as I wonder what the heck younger me was thinking.

At any rate, here are the top 5 books I plan to reread this year:

the handmaid's tale

1. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

I think about this book a lot. I can’t be sure (read: getting old), but I think I’ve read this one twice already. I remember the last time I read it was years ago, on a walk in the beautiful countryside while giant grasshoppers jumped around me. (On a related note: jumping and flying grasshoppers are HORRIBLE.) I’ve read very little of what Margaret Atwood has to offer, but maybe with a reread of this one, I’ll want to read more.

me before you

2. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

This is a tricky, tricky one. I absolutely adored this book and just read it last year shortly after it came out. Is it too soon to reread it? Of course, I have three other books by Moyes on my shelf but I just can’t stop thinking of this one!

the art of asking

3. The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer

Another fresh read for me, BUT I have the audiobook version which I’ve heard has little extra bits in it. It’s been a while since I’ve listened to an audiobook, but with spring (hopefully?!?) around the corner, it might be a good listen as I try to freshen up the house from its winter hibernation.

percy jackson and the olympians

4. The entire Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan

I haven’t actually read this whole series yet, only the first three books, but there are SO MANY amazing reviews about this whole series and its spinoff that I just have to go back and start over again and read the whole thing. I feel so out of the look with having not continued with this series that I need to get back in it!

naive super

5. Naive. Super by Erlend Loe

I’m not even sure if you can buy a copy of this book anymore, since it’s an import, BUT this is one book that I remember having strong feelings about. It’s this tiny little book and it almost seems like it’s about absolutely nothing, but I loved it. Again, it’s been years since I’ve read it and I’ve given away my copy, but hopefully I can track down another one and try it again.

Now, I know it sounds odd to list the books I want to reread this year, when I should be talking about the books that I’m most looking forward to. But sometimes there’s something special in a reread. If it goes well, you find those little moments in a book that were overlooked the first time. Or maybe you just “get” the book with a second reading in one of those “Oh my god, I can’t believe I never thought of that!” moments.

Are you a rereader? What are some of your favourites from the past?

Leave a Reply

